Writing prompt: Write a poem about yourself in which nothing is true

I drive slow and cautious

I’m refined and polished

Eloquent, never in disarray

I’ll easily follow your way

My clothes, nary a wrinkle

And I always follow the rules

Only the finest gold graces my skin

I am perfect, without sin

Overlooking the water in my oceantfront property

In Tennessee

 

Prompt from: http://www.creative-writing-now.com/creative-writing-prompts.html

One thought on “Writing prompt: Write a poem about yourself in which nothing is true

  1. Writing prompt: Write a poem about yourself in which nothing is true

    no not me
    i have not once desired to dive deep into the sea
    color my skin with shades of coral
    braid seaweed and shells into my long blonde locks
    salt water and sand make me itch
    no longing to swim with dolphins
    in water in hues as blue as my eyes
    that shut at the first sign of a sunrise

    give me a cabin in the woods
    far from any sounds of life
    but wolves howling
    with onyx snowcapped mountains
    that pierce then deflate the lungs of the red sun
    with its annoying indecisive shades of gold
    © michele mitchell, 2013

    Prompt from: http://www.creative-writing-now.com/creative-writing-prompts.html

Leave a Reply

